SEPT-ILES and other places by Donna Carrick [Mysteries]

SEPT-ILES and other places (Toboggan Mysteries series).
Story One:  North on the Yellowhead
by Donna Carrick   [Reviewer Charlotte Liebel]

Unrequited love stories live a life of their own without question. Young lovers, especially for their vulnerability, can create a nostalgic trance of probabilities that are out of proportion to their romance. Donna Carrick writes the first of her stories in the book ‘SEPT-ILES and other places (Toboggan Mysteries series)’ called ‘North on the Yellowhead. ’   A couple of teens from opposite sides of their community embrace their needs in an unlikely place.

Youthful fantasies pair an impressionable young lady to her soul mate in Lester LeBlanc ~ a church saxophone player. They find love. Then, too soon, the magical bond dissipates. Over the years they lose touch as each marries and their destiny is lost in reality.

The short story follows the heroine’s childhood memories: graduation from high school, career, and two marriages. Her return to this small town is brief and a sad occasion marked with sprinkles of nostalgic thoughts of jealousy and forgiveness.

Lester’s life takes several turns. He marries a child of passion who never matures. They have three children and he is trapped in a loveless match. His loyalty derives from dedication to family.  He must look beyond himself until, one day, as life evolves, he is thrust into a final crisis.  Tragedy.

Through an act of relational small-mindedness, readers learn that Lester is gone. The mystery that brought our heroine to town is resolved. This releases her forever from the past and her audience feels her pain.

She has endured twenty-five years of love and loss. A love to someone so dear that she was unable to reveal it to anyone. Beyond belief, our heroine has one final secret about which she has not revealed to even her sister Tillie. A last suspenseful moment awaits.

Read the complete book by Donna Carrick entitled SEPT-ILES and other places (Toboggan Mysteries series).   Five stories are featured in Volume 1 of the series in Northern locales, including: North On The Yellowhead, Dancing With Carole, Invasion, The Night She Died, Spring’s Last Skate.

Available for instant download at  Kindle via Amazon and at Carrick Publishing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s